Girafawaland

plan axonométrique Muséum de Bordeaux
Girafawaland
Afrique, savane sauvage
From
to
Pending
Exhibition type
Temporary
Target audience
General public
Share
The Museum of Bordeaux – Science and nature propose the exhibition Girafawaland as part of Naturalia Africa
The Museum of natural history of Bordeaux – Science and nature propose the exhibition Girafawaland as part of Naturalia Africa
The Museum of Bordeaux – Science and nature propose the exhibition Girafawaland as part of Naturalia Africa
The Museum of natural history of Bordeaux – Science and nature propose the exhibition Girafawaland as part of Naturalia Africa
The Museum of natural history of Bordeaux – Science and nature propose the exhibition Girafawaland as part of Naturalia Africa

Girafawaland is an exhibition where fact and fiction are constantly playing hide and seek. A surrealist, poetic, critical and tongue-in-cheek parable of colonialism, this exhibition explores with humour our relationship with the other and with nature.

It is in West Africa, and more precisely in the country that soon became known as Girafawaland, that the peaceful Girafawaras people lived in total symbiosis with nature and enjoyed a close and mysterious bond with the many giraffes that populated the area.

In 1912, two English aristocrats, Marmaduke Lovingstone and Douglas Pawlette, finally discovered the place after years of investigation. By bringing to light multiple representations of giraffes in paintings, sculptures and all sorts of ritual objects, Lord Lovingstone made the sensational discovery that the nomadic Girafawaras people had left traces of their presence all around the globe since the beginning of time... The collection and conservation of these priceless pieces is mostly the work of Emma Pawlette, the benefactress of the Lovingstone Foundation. The small collection of miraculously unearthed relics presented here are a final and very touching testament to one of the greatest museum and human mysteries of all time. Against a backdrop of culture shock and impossible love, their incredible adventures are told through the letters that Lovingstone sent to Emma Pawlette, left behind in England. But the wonder of discovery quickly gave way to hegemonic desires, exploitation and division until everything collapsed in a frenzy of destructive madness...

The exhibition Girafawaland, curated by artists Kiki and Albert Lemant, presents this extraordinary adventure. Aimed at children and adults, this exhibition where fact and fiction are easily confused poses the question of colonialism and the extinction of civilisation and species with poetry and humour.

 

An exhibition dossier created by artists Kiki and Albert Lemant

Painter, engraver and author-illustrator, Albert Lamant explores diverse techniques ranging from engraving and monotypes to watercolour to installations made out of papier mâché. He has produced numerous publications beautifully blending words and pictures for younger audiences. Partnering up with his wife Kiki, he organises exhibitions in France and all over the world.

Girafawaland

plan axonométrique Muséum de Bordeaux
Girafawaland
Dieudonné Sana Wambeti
Afrique, savane sauvage - scolaire [COMPLET]
Afrique, savane sauvage
Du
au
En cours
Type d’exposition
Temporaire
Public concerné
Grand public
Partager
Le Muséum de Bordeaux - sciences et nature accueille l'exposition Girafawaland dans le cadre de Naturalia africa
Le Muséum d'histoire naturelle de Bordeaux - sciences et nature accueille l'exposition Girafawaland dans le cadre de Naturalia africa
Le Muséum de Bordeaux - sciences et nature accueille l'exposition Girafawaland dans le cadre de Naturalia africa
Le Muséum d'histoire naturelle de Bordeaux - sciences et nature accueille l'exposition Girafawaland dans le cadre de Naturalia africa
Le Musée d'histoire naturelle de Bordeaux - sciences et nature accueille l'exposition Girafawaland dans le cadre de Naturalia africa

Girafawaland est une exposition où le vrai et le faux jouent une partie de cache-cache permanent. Parabole onirique, poétique, critique humoristique de la colonisation, cette exposition questionne avec humour le rapport à l’autre et à la Nature.

C’est en Afrique occidentale, et plus précisément dans le pays qu’on appellera très vite Girafawaland, que le peuple pacifique des Girafawaras vivait en totale symbiose avec la nature tout en entretenant un lien mystérieux avec les girafes omniprésentes.

En 1912, deux aristocrates anglais, Marmaduke Lovingstone et Douglas Pawlette, découvrent cette terre au terme de multiples investigations. En mettant au jour de nombreuses représentations de girafes sous forme de peintures, sculptures ainsi que quantité d’objets rituels de toutes sortes, Lord Lovingstone fit la sensationnelle découverte que le peuple nomade des Girafawaras avait laissé des traces de sa présence tout autour du globe et ce depuis le début des temps… Le collectage et la conservation de ces pièces inestimables furent en majeure partie l’oeuvre d’Emma Pawlette, bienfaitrice de la Fondation Lovingstone. Les quelques objets retrouvés par miracle et présentés ici sont les derniers et très émouvants témoignages d’un des plus grands mystères muséographiques et humains de tous les temps. Sous fond de choc des cultures et d’amour impossible, leurs aventures rocambolesques sont rapportées au fil des lettres que Lovingstone envoie à Emma Pawlette, restée en Angleterre. Mais l’émerveillement de la découverte laisse rapidement place aux désirs hégémoniques, à l’exploitation et à la division jusqu’à sombrer dans la folie destructrice...

L’exposition Girafawaland, conçue par les artistes Kiki et Albert Lemant, met en scène cette aventure hors du commun. Destinée aux adultes comme aux enfants, cette exposition où le vrai et le faux se confondent, pose avec poésie et humour la question de la colonisation et celle de la disparition des civilisations et des espèces.