Wolves

Du
au
Public concerné
Young visitors
Partager
In The Museum of natural history of Bordeaux – Science and nature, you can discover new exhibitions. Withe the device The Museum comes to you, you can also attend off-site worshops. You can choose topics adapted to school level then the scientific mediator of The Museum of Bordeaux go to you school or you leisure centre to do an animation linked to history and natural sciences.

Primary from Year 2 to Year 6

The wolf has a special place in Western culture. The wolf’s exploits (and victims!) are recounted in untold stories such as The Three Little Pigs, Little Red Riding Hood and The Boy Who Cried Wolf.

This workshop encourages children to adjust their beliefs to the animal that exists in the real world. The workshop explains that the wolf is actually the ancestor of an animal that most children know and love: the dog. The wolf, naturally quite reserved, is a predator which has to kill for food to survive but is actually no more ferocious than any other carnivore. Children will discover that the wolf is not the solitary animal they may believe it to be but lives in a pack, that a she-wolf is an attentive mother, that the wolf avoids contact with humans and that wolves howl to communicate with one another and not to frighten us.

The aim of the workshop is to present wolves objectively, from a zoological perspective. Children will discuss variety between individuals, their coat and their expressions. The family structure (pack) is described along with some of the mimics and attitudes which govern the relationships between members. These social and family structures no doubt account for much of the fascination humans have with wolves.

Above and beyond its ecological context, the wolf will be placed in its taxonomic context, i.e. the species Canis lupus within the Carnivora order. The ancestry relations between the dog and the wolf are also presented.

Groups of children will take it in turns to observe the museum’s specimens with a facilitator and participate in a research workshop led by the teacher guided by a questionnaire and various books provided.

Workshop aims:

  • Describe and know the wolf’s morphology
  • Understand its place in the Carnivora order
  • Learn about its diet, reproduction and behaviour
  • Learn about its place in nature and identify the possible implications of their decline and reintroduction
  • Conduct research and learn some new words

During the workshop, the facilitator will present a slideshow and a selection from the Museum of Bordeaux collections including wolf skin, skulls and more. Children will also get to work with learning resources specially devised or assembled for the session.

To book a workshop of The Museum comes to you and on all administrative matters, the secretariat is listening to you.
By phone
: 05 24 57 65 30
By e-mail: museum@mairie-bordeaux.fr

The worshop about wolves is devoted to children. The Museum comes to you propose out-site worshops appropriate to every ages. Children can also come into The Museum of natural history of Bordeaux – Science and nature to discover exhibitions about nature and animals.
Primary from Year 2 to Year 6

Les loups

Du
au
Public concerné
Jeune public
Partager
Au Muséum d'histoire naturelle de Bordeaux - sciences et nature, vous pouvez découvrir de nombreuses expositions. grâce au dispositif Le Muséum chez vous, vous pouvez également assister à des ateliers hors les murs. Vous choisissez une thématique adaptée au niveau scolaire puis le médiateur du Muséum de Bordeaux se déplace dans votre école ou votre centre de loisirs pour faire une animation en lien avec les l'histoire et les sciences naturelles.

Elémentaire cycles 2 et 3

Les loups ont une place particulière dans notre culture occidentale. On retrouve souvent les exploits et les victimes des loups dans de nos lectures comme les Trois petits cochons, le Petit Chaperon rouge, la Chèvre de Monsieur Seguin, …

L’animation propose aux enfants d’ajuster leurs croyances à la réalité de l’animal. L’atelier leur explique que le loup est l’ancêtre d’un animal qu’ils connaissent bien : le chien. Le loup, d’un naturel plutôt réservé, est un prédateur qui a besoin de tuer pour se nourrir mais qui n’est pas plus féroce qu’un autre carnivore. Les enfants découvrent que le loup n’est pas l’animal solitaire qu’ils croient, qu’il vit en meute, que la louve est une mère attentive, qu’il évite le contact avec l’homme et que les hurlements du loup ne sont pas là pour nous effrayer mais pour communiquer entre congénères.

L’animation s’attache à présenter les loups objectivement, du point de vue zoologique. On y parle de la variété des individus, de leur pelage, de leurs expressions. La structure sociale (meute ou clan) est décrite ainsi que quelques-unes des mimiques et attitudes du loup qui règlent le code des relations entre individus. Ces structures sociales et familiales interviennent sans doute pour une bonne part dans la fascination que les loups exercent sur les hommes…

Outre le contexte écologique, le loup sera situé dans son contexte taxonomique, c’est-à-dire l’espèce Loup (Canis lupus) au sein de l’ordre des Carnivores. La parenté entre Chien et Loup est évoquée.

Les enfants découvrent alternativement les spécimens du Muséum avec le médiateur, et mènent un atelier de recherche documentaire conduit par l’enseignant, grâce à un questionnaire et les nombreux ouvrages mis à disposition.

L’objectif de l’animation est de :

  • Décrire et connaître la morphologie du loup
  • Comprendre sa place dans le groupe zoologique des Carnivores
  • Connaître son alimentation, sa reproduction et son comportement
  • Connaître sa place dans la nature et discerner les implications possibles de sa disparition et de sa réintroduction
  • Faire une recherche documentaire et d’enrichir son vocabulaire.

Pendant l’animation, le médiateur s’appuiera sur un diaporama et vous présentera une sélection des collections du Muséum de Bordeaux (peau de loup, crânes…). Vous découvrirez aussi du matériel pédagogique spécialement créé ou réuni pour l’animation.

Pour réserver un atelier du Muséum chez vous et pour toute question administrative, le secrétariat est à votre écoute.
Par téléphone : 05 24 57 65 30
Par mail : museum@mairie-bordeaux.fr

L'atelier sur les loups est dédié aux enfants. Le Muséum chez vous propose des ateliers hors les murs adaptés à tous les âges. Les enfants peuvent également venir au sein du musée d'histoire naturelle de Bordeaux pour découvrir ses expositions sur la nature et les animaux.
Elémentaire cycles 2 et 3